Singapore street photography

I recently spent 4 days in Singapore of which I was single-handedly looking after my one year old son for 3 days.  Needless to say it was quite exhausting.  Photography was difficult but I managed to capture a few images .  I walked around for hours in the streets or in malls or anywhere that presented a change of scenery for my son while providing me with the chance of making some photographs.  For the most part I had to wait for images to come to me and unfold in my shooting range.  If I saw a potential image coming together at a bit of a distance or across the street then there was no way for me to hurry towards it – and as you can imagine there were plenty of such instances.  In retrospect it was a productive challenge and one that really pushed me.  And I did manage to use my son as a prop in what turned out to be one of my favourite images.

P1180538

I even managed to make a couple of images just walking around in our hotel…

P1140226

.

P1140230

.

P1140264

.

P1150298

My son looks so bored like he wishes these women would just leave him alone.  Bet that will change too soon!

P1150388

.

P1160411

.

P1180536

.

P1190595

.

DSC07854

.

DSC07932

.

DSC07922

.

DSC07813

.

DSC07879

.

11 thoughts on “Singapore street photography

  1. Mostly ordinary pictures, but I liked the 6th one, i.e. the one that shows two different set of peoples using their cellphones. Normally, cellphone pictures are rather predictably dull as the subject has a fixed expression on his/her face while looking at the cell phone. Your picture juxtaposes two such images in one and makes it interesting. Thanks.

  2. It seemed a little rush, but hey, you were in Singapore, that’s all it matters!
    The garden by the bay has to be the must visit destination over there i bet.

  3. My favourite is the second one – its the sort of thing I would expect to see in a magazine. I am surprised Singapore allows posters like the one against which your son is sitting. I like to Singapore to visit – spent 3 or 4 months there once but would not wish to live there. Glad you, managed to squeeze in some fun with all the hard work, Kaushal.

Leave a Reply

