Ganapati Visarjan in Mumbai

Every year I head for Ganapati Visarjan – camera in tow – and every year I vow not to go back again.  The sheer massiveness of the visarjan jamboree and the resulting chaos makes it so difficult to capture anything worthwhile.  So this time when I headed back to Chowpatty beach, much against logical reasoning, it was going to be to shoot along the fringes of the event.  Sure I started out by the sea where a majority of photographers are, but I quickly moved towards the area away from the mayhem (relatively speaking of course) and that is where I hung out for the rest of the evening.

To make things more interesting I shot a majority of these images with a 50mm lens as opposed to my regular 35mm.  The challenge was fun and in some images you can see that I struggled with the narrower view.  I am used to just positioning myself in the right spot with a 35mm lens and then waiting for something to happen before lifting the camera to my eye.  This time I kept forgetting I had a 50mm lens attached and often found myself too close to my subject.  But I quickly became accustomed to my new focal length and overall it turned out to a fun challenge – definitely one I will repeat in future.

Once again I am not sure that I got anything brilliant in terms of images but the ‘visarjan’ experience as a whole was a lot more bearable and this time I actually left with the intention of returning again next year.

.

_DSC2402

.

DSCF3619

.

_DSC2485

.

_DSC2431

.

_DSC2549

.

_DSC2497

.

_DSC2618

.

_DSC2673a

.

_DSC2726

.

 _DSC2781

.

_DSC2807

.

_DSC2758

.

DSCF3587

.

DSCF3667

.

DSCF3708

4 thoughts on “Ganapati Visarjan in Mumbai

Leave a Reply

